| Summary: | avahi: deluser and delgroup in postrm script | ||
|---|---|---|---|
| Product: | [Build System, Metadata & Runtime] OE-Core | Reporter: | Markus Lehtonen <markus.lehtonen> |
| Component: | connectivity | Assignee: | Jussi Kukkonen <jku> |
| Status: | RESOLVED FIXED | QA Contact: | Juan Ramos <juan.fernandox.ramos.frayle> |
| Severity: | normal | ||
| Priority: | Medium+ | CC: | jose.perez.carranza, maxin.john, meta.mr.watcher, meta.watcher |
| Version: | 2.2 | ||
| Target Milestone: | 2.3 M2 | ||
| Hardware: | All | ||
| OS: | Multiple | ||
| Whiteboard: | |||
| OS type for building Yocto: | --- | Type of Regression: | --- |
| Verified: | Documentation change: | No (bug/feature does not impact docs) | |
|
Description
Markus Lehtonen
2016-10-17 08:13:14 UTC
This seems reasonable: if we wanted to remove users it should be part of USERADD machinery anyway, not up to individual postrm functions. distcc has the same issue. In #9262, we had a similar discussion and "unofficially" agreed that we won't delete the existing users/groups from the rootfs. https://bugzilla.yoctoproject.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9262#c2 Fixed in poky: commit 5354a4a315550f71686af17b42818cb1976a7f19 Author: Jussi Kukkonen <jussi.kukkonen@intel.com> Date: Mon Oct 31 15:40:18 2016 +0200 distcc: Don't remove users/groups in postrm There's no way to ensure that files owned by the users aren't left on the system at postrm time: Removing the user would mean those files are now owned by a non-existing user, and later may be owned by a completely unrelated new user. (From OE-Core rev: 776370efb9fa48b82ac991e3d001accd122d611b) Signed-off-by: Jussi Kukkonen <jussi.kukkonen@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Richard Purdie <richard.purdie@linuxfoundation.org> commit b1e1c12a3f4d6a06aaf2ed18b1f2a9a7de5f0198 Author: Jussi Kukkonen <jussi.kukkonen@intel.com> Date: Mon Oct 31 15:40:17 2016 +0200 avahi: Don't remove users/groups in postrm There's no way to ensure that files owned by the users aren't left on the system at postrm time: Removing the user would mean those files are now owned by a non-existing user, and later may be owned by a completely unrelated new user. [YOCTO #10442] (From OE-Core rev: c1be2196e7ffb23b7b243ecd8aca1827cbdfa443) Signed-off-by: Jussi Kukkonen <jussi.kukkonen@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Richard Purdie <richard.purdie@linuxfoundation.org> |