Bug 6238

Summary: delete projects/builds through the toaster UI
Product: [Build System, Metadata & Runtime] Toaster Reporter: David Reyna <david.reyna>
Component: toasterAssignee: Michael Wood <michael.g.wood>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED QA Contact: Libertad <libertad.gonzalez.de.la.cruz>
Severity: enhancement    
Priority: Medium+ CC: alexandru.damian, belen.barros.pena, brian.avery, cristiana.voicu, ionutx.chisanovici, jessica.zhang, jose.perez.carranza
Version: 1.9   
Target Milestone: 2.2 M4   
Hardware: x86   
OS: Multiple   
Whiteboard: GUI design available
OS type for building Yocto: --- Type of Regression: ---
Verified: Documentation change: Yes (doc changes required)
Attachments:
Description Flags
Design - Deleting builds and projects none

Description David Reyna 2014-04-25 07:28:17 UTC
There are several options and levels for removing builds from Toaster interface.

  (a) Hide builds from a project

This option simply removes or hides selected builds from the Toaster display, for example builds quickly halted because the owner realized that they missed a setting. The database records and the project on the disk is untouched. This un-clutters the display, yet requires little programing (and development time). This implies that there would be a page that can show all builds, and allow users to unhide selected builds.

 (b) Delete builds from a project

This option is where a selected build and all its related database records are removed from the database. This removes the database overhead for this unwanted builds. The project on the disk is untouched. Since the database should be normalized, this operation should be clean and not interfere with other builds.
Comment 1 David Reyna 2014-04-25 07:29:18 UTC
Assigning this first to Belén for the design phase.
Comment 2 Belen Barros Pena 2014-09-09 11:02:38 UTC
So, best case scenario is I have time to design something and the dev team has time to implement it. Worst case scenario we extend the builddelete command to delete projects as well.
Comment 3 Alexandru Damian 2015-04-10 16:09:48 UTC
The delete functionality is dependent on the user authentication and permission enforcement to prevent data loss through unauthorized delete operations.
Comment 4 Belen Barros Pena 2015-08-20 17:04:00 UTC
setting to 'future' until we discuss new features for upcoming releases
Comment 5 Belen Barros Pena 2016-03-01 11:51:31 UTC
we should probably tackle all delete features within 2.2: see also bug 8132 and bug 9184
Comment 6 Belen Barros Pena 2016-07-20 13:40:49 UTC
Created attachment 3298 [details]
Design - Deleting builds and projects
Comment 7 Michael Wood 2016-09-06 15:04:42 UTC
The build dashboard page currently has buttons for "Download build log" "New custom image", should the delete also be a button or a link as is on http://www.yoctoproject.org/toaster/b3/build-dashboard.html ?
Comment 8 Belen Barros Pena 2016-09-07 09:30:44 UTC
(In reply to comment #7)
> The build dashboard page currently has buttons for "Download build log" "New
> custom image", should the delete also be a button or a link as is on
> http://www.yoctoproject.org/toaster/b3/build-dashboard.html ?

All the options in the "Actions" section of the left navigation should be turned into links. I tried to explain on page 3 of the design document:

https://bugzilla.yoctoproject.org/attachment.cgi?id=3298

Any other questions, let me know.