Bug 2103

Summary: [Hob2] Select a Base Image behaviour
Product: [Build System, Metadata & Runtime] Hob Reporter: Giulia <giulia>
Component: hobAssignee: Shane Wang <shane.wang>
Status: VERIFIED FIXED QA Contact:
Severity: enhancement    
Priority: Medium CC: belen.barros.pena, dongxiao.xu, giulia, jessica.zhang, jiajun.xu, josh, poky.bs.watcher, poky.watcher, shane.wang
Version: 1.2   
Target Milestone: 1.2 M4   
Hardware: x86   
OS: Multiple   
Whiteboard: Fixed
OS type for building Yocto: --- Type of Regression: ---
Verified: Documentation change: ---
Attachments:
Description Flags
Bug when image is remembered none

Description Giulia 2012-03-14 15:35:11 UTC
In the 'Image configuration' screen, 'image description', 'Recipes', 'Packages', 'Build packages' and 'Build recipes' buttons should appear only once a base image has been selected.
Comment 2 Giulia 2012-03-27 16:00:52 UTC
As, once an base image is selected and users select a new base image,  'View recipes', 'View packages', 'Build packages' and 'Build image' buttons are greyed out till another base image is 'loaded', also the description should be greyed out for consistency (it will help users understand the relationship between the dropdown and the description).
Comment 3 Giulia 2012-03-27 16:14:29 UTC
I re-opened this as I added this critical bug from bug 2104.

"When users select a machine for the first time, they are required to select
a base image. If users than select a new machine (after having been in the
process already), the previously selected base image is 'remembered' and
automatically displayed (while selecting a new machine should take users to the
original state where no base image is selected). "
Comment 4 Shane Wang 2012-03-29 03:20:48 UTC
should remember or shouldn't remember?

So far it was remembered.
Comment 5 Shane Wang 2012-03-29 03:22:44 UTC
See the description of the other bug filed for me https://bugzilla.yoctoproject.org/show_bug.cgi?id=2113.

"Remember" feature is good for users.
Comment 6 Shane Wang 2012-03-30 15:26:34 UTC
Giulia, I am going to mark it as Fixed. If Belen and you think it makes sense to select a new machine should take users to the
original state where no base image is selected, can you file a feature enhancement bug. Thanks.
Comment 7 Giulia 2012-04-03 15:56:40 UTC
As this bug is not fixed I reopened it and filed it as enhancement as requested. 

Belèn and I believe that, if users change machine, the base image should not be remembered as users are probably starting something new from scratch. Also, what gets remembered? Just the basic recipes for an image or also all the personalisation (custom packages and recipes etc...)?
Comment 8 Giulia 2012-04-03 16:00:39 UTC
Created attachment 434 [details]
Bug when image is remembered

When changed machine, the base image remembered didn't display the name, but only the description.
Comment 9 Shane Wang 2012-04-09 14:25:28 UTC
"When users select a machine for the first time, they are required to select
a base image. If users than select a new machine (after having been in the
process already), the previously selected base image is 'remembered' and
automatically displayed (while selecting a new machine should take users to the
original state where no base image is selected). "


That was implemented. Now no base image is selected while users select a new machine.
Comment 11 Belen Barros Pena 2012-04-18 08:27:16 UTC
verified. Thanks!