In the 'Image configuration' screen, 'image description', 'Recipes', 'Packages', 'Build packages' and 'Build recipes' buttons should appear only once a base image has been selected.
http://git.yoctoproject.org/cgit/cgit.cgi/poky/commit/?id=c1cc10d013e41900743adbe5538583874cb0ac5f
As, once an base image is selected and users select a new base image, 'View recipes', 'View packages', 'Build packages' and 'Build image' buttons are greyed out till another base image is 'loaded', also the description should be greyed out for consistency (it will help users understand the relationship between the dropdown and the description).
I re-opened this as I added this critical bug from bug 2104. "When users select a machine for the first time, they are required to select a base image. If users than select a new machine (after having been in the process already), the previously selected base image is 'remembered' and automatically displayed (while selecting a new machine should take users to the original state where no base image is selected). "
should remember or shouldn't remember? So far it was remembered.
See the description of the other bug filed for me https://bugzilla.yoctoproject.org/show_bug.cgi?id=2113. "Remember" feature is good for users.
Giulia, I am going to mark it as Fixed. If Belen and you think it makes sense to select a new machine should take users to the original state where no base image is selected, can you file a feature enhancement bug. Thanks.
As this bug is not fixed I reopened it and filed it as enhancement as requested. Belèn and I believe that, if users change machine, the base image should not be remembered as users are probably starting something new from scratch. Also, what gets remembered? Just the basic recipes for an image or also all the personalisation (custom packages and recipes etc...)?
Created attachment 434 [details] Bug when image is remembered When changed machine, the base image remembered didn't display the name, but only the description.
"When users select a machine for the first time, they are required to select a base image. If users than select a new machine (after having been in the process already), the previously selected base image is 'remembered' and automatically displayed (while selecting a new machine should take users to the original state where no base image is selected). " That was implemented. Now no base image is selected while users select a new machine.
http://git.yoctoproject.org/cgit/cgit.cgi/poky/commit/?id=ccf4f7653b0e0dbaeb6b682463c8b57e2edf1787
verified. Thanks!