Bug 10286 - Deleting builds and projects should be a modal process
Summary: Deleting builds and projects should be a modal process
Status: RESOLVED FIXED
Alias: None
Product: Toaster
Classification: Build System, Metadata & Runtime
Component: toaster (show other bugs)
Version: unspecified
Hardware: x86 Multiple
: Medium normal
Target Milestone: 2.2 M4
Assignee: Michael Wood
QA Contact: Libertad
URL:
Whiteboard: GUI design pending
Depends on: 10289
Blocks:
  Show dependency tree
 
Reported: 2016-09-15 15:38 UTC by Belen Barros Pena
Modified: 2016-10-25 11:25 UTC (History)
3 users (show)

See Also:
OS type for building Yocto: ---
Type of Regression: ---
Verified:
Documentation change: No (bug/feature does not impact docs)


Attachments
build_artifact_does_not_exist.png (46.65 KB, image/png)
2016-09-15 15:38 UTC, Belen Barros Pena
no flags Details

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Belen Barros Pena 2016-09-15 15:38:54 UTC
Created attachment 3422 [details]
build_artifact_does_not_exist.png

Apologies for missing this when designing the feature. 

It turns out deleting a build can take a little while (at least when you are using sqlite). Sagely, Michael added a progress indicator. However, while the deletion is in progress, you can still dismiss the "delete" dialog, and navigate around the data for the build you are deleting ... until the deletion completes. At that point you will get an ugly error

DoesNotExist at /toastergui/build/11/recipes/
Build matching query does not exist.

To avoid this we should:

1. Make the delete process truly modal: you should not be able to dismiss the 'delete' modal dialog. Apparently, properties exist to do this (http://stackoverflow.com/questions/9894339/disallow-twitter-bootstrap-modal-window-from-closing)

2. Create a custom message for deleted object urls, as we do for deleted build artifacts
Comment 1 Belen Barros Pena 2016-09-16 10:49:54 UTC
Forgot to mention: we also need to remove / disable the "Cancel" link in the modal dialog once you click "Delete".