Bug 5203 - [kepler] - cannot create BB commander project using default settings
Summary: [kepler] - cannot create BB commander project using default settings
Status: VERIFIED FIXED
Alias: None
Product: Eclipse Plugin
Classification: Yocto Project Subprojects
Component: eclipse-plugin (show other bugs)
Version: 1.5
Hardware: x86 Multiple
: Medium normal
Target Milestone: 1.5.1
Assignee: Scott Rifenbark
QA Contact:
URL: http://git.yoctoproject.org/cgit/cgit...
Whiteboard: 04 November 2013: VERIFIED
Depends on:
Blocks:
 
Reported: 2013-09-16 09:05 UTC by Alexandru Georgescu
Modified: 2013-11-04 17:12 UTC (History)
5 users (show)

See Also:
OS type for building Yocto: ---
Type of Regression: ---
Verified:
Documentation change: Done (doc changes complete)


Attachments
bbcmd kepler error (121.44 KB, image/png)
2013-09-16 09:05 UTC, Alexandru Georgescu
no flags Details

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Alexandru Georgescu 2013-09-16 09:05:57 UTC
Created attachment 1499 [details]
bbcmd kepler error

eclispe-poky-kepler: e21e4285ecffa30e0931bc09d04fb8585618043c
kepler plugin: http://autobuilder.yoctoproject.org/pub/releases/1.5_M5.rc1/eclipse-plugin/kepler/org.yocto.sdk-development-201309120154-archive.zip
Host: Fedora 18 64bit.


STEPS TO REPRODUCE
1. perform a New headless build for kepler
2. Install eclipse plugin for kepler
3. Create a new BB commander project:
 File -> New -> Project -> New Yocto Project -> Next
4. in the details window for the "Yocto Project BitBake commander" fill in the following using the steps:
  a) Set up a project name. e.g: yoctoprj
  b) Select "Local" for "Remote Service Provider"
  c) Select "Local" for connection name
  d) Make sure "Clone from Yocto PRoject ... " is checked.

5. Press Next

EXPECTED RESULTS
5. Next button is active and when pressed gets you to the next window.

ACTUAL RESULTS
4. c) When selecting "Local" for "Connection name" the field "Location" autocompletes with the location of the current "Workspace". e.g.: "/home/yocto/workspacelklklklaklaa"
5. The "Next" button is inactive and cannot be pressed (see attachment).
   An error is displayed, informing the user that the current project overlaps the location of another project, with the same name as entered, even if there is no such project.
Comment 1 Jessica 2013-10-11 19:40:43 UTC
Hi Scott,

Can you add a documentation note stating that user shouldn't specify their eclipse workspace as their bitbake commander project's location, this is due to an issue of upstream implementation.

Thanks,
Jessica
Comment 2 Scott Rifenbark 2013-10-14 16:59:45 UTC
I added a note indicating that the user should not do this and gave a brief explanation of the error that is returned if they do.

Please review the note at http://www.yoctoproject.org/docs/1.5/dev-manual/dev-manual.html#creating-the-yocto-bitbake-commander-project

Thanks, 
Scott
Comment 3 Scott Rifenbark 2013-10-31 18:10:04 UTC
I am marking this RESOLVED as there has been no review comments against the solution that is in place.
Comment 4 Alexandru Georgescu 2013-11-01 15:25:26 UTC
Hi Scott,
First, sorry for the late reply. Seems that I missed this for review. 

The documentation note is okay, only one thing. I think it's: "Do not specify your Bitbake Commander project location as your Eclipse workspace." instead of "Do not specify your Eclipse workspace as your Bitbake Commander project location." since you first specify the eclipse workspace when you open it up, then specify the BB location when creating the project. It's like a word game a think :)

If agreed to make this changes, I will then mark this as verified.

Regards,
Alex.
Comment 6 Alexandru Georgescu 2013-11-04 08:40:32 UTC
Thank you Scott! 

Verified.
Comment 7 Scott Rifenbark 2013-11-04 17:12:23 UTC
Great Alex... I changed it to VERIFIED.

Scott