Bug 2984 - Image details reports that "Your image is ready" even if changes to the included packages have been made
Summary: Image details reports that "Your image is ready" even if changes to the inclu...
Status: VERIFIED FIXED
Alias: None
Product: Hob
Classification: Build System, Metadata & Runtime
Component: hob (show other bugs)
Version: 1.3
Hardware: All Multiple
: Medium major
Target Milestone: 1.3 M4
Assignee: Cristiana Voicu
QA Contact:
URL:
Whiteboard:
Depends on:
Blocks:
 
Reported: 2012-08-21 18:36 UTC by Cristian Iorga
Modified: 2012-09-11 08:17 UTC (History)
9 users (show)

See Also:
OS type for building Yocto: ---
Type of Regression: ---
Verified:
Documentation change: ---


Attachments

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Cristian Iorga 2012-08-21 18:36:43 UTC
After an image is built via Hob, the "Image details" screen is brought up.
At this point, user decided to edit some packages (for example, adding some) via the "Edit packages" button.

When the user is returned to "Image details" page, "Your image is ready" status is still reported, which is wrong.

Correct status should be reported and buttons should be updated accordingly.
For example, the "Run Image" button should be replaced by "Build Image" or "Rebuild image" ("Update image") button.
Comment 1 Cristiana Voicu 2012-08-29 14:01:45 UTC
After investigating this issue, I have found that after returning to "Image details" page, "Your image is ready" status should appear. In fact, "back" button should have another action( like a "cancel" button). 

After pressing the "back" button, all the changes you made in "packages selected" page should be the reseted, to reflect the image you already build.

I will continue fixing the button.
Comment 2 Belen Barros Pena 2012-08-31 09:21:17 UTC
Hi Cristiana,

You are right: that is the correct behaviour. I think some confusion comes from the fact that we have currently a 'back' button, instead of a 'cancel' button as the design specified (see bug 3012).

When my image build completes, I arrive to the image details screen. If I:

1. select the 'edit packages' option, 
2. make some changes to the packages 
3. click the 'cancel' (currently 'stop') button, 

All my package changes should be ignored and I should return to exactly the same image details screen (only without the 'Image ready' notification).
Comment 3 Cristiana Voicu 2012-08-31 09:50:36 UTC
I have already sent a patch to change the action for "back" button, but I didn't think I should also remove 'Image ready' notification. 
I will send another patch for this.
Comment 4 Belen Barros Pena 2012-08-31 10:05:49 UTC
Sorry, Cristiana: my bad. I should have been more clear about the notification.

I think we should remove it if we can. The notification tells you that everything went fine with the image building, so it only makes sense to have it when you land on the image details screen as a result of building something. If I then go away and come back, I already know the build finished successfully, so I should no longer need the notification. 

I hope that's ok.

Thanks!

Belen
Comment 5 Cristiana Voicu 2012-08-31 11:39:44 UTC
Yes you are right. I will change this soon.
Comment 6 Cristiana Voicu 2012-09-07 11:51:02 UTC
patches merged to master
Comment 7 Andreea Brandusa Proca 2012-09-11 08:17:31 UTC
Verified in commit: 7250638ec895bc89508711831083d43b9e1e9826.